Sun 20 April, 2014  Drop a Visiting Card
Dipak Mishra, J Chelameswar appointed SC Judges

While Dipak Mishra is currently Chief Justice of Delhi High Court, Jasti Chelameswar is holding the same position at Kerala High Court

New Delhi: The President Pratibha Devisingh Patil has appointed two new Judges to the Supreme Court.

An official release said, Justice Dipak Mishra, Chief Justice of the Delhi High Court and Chief Justice of the Kerala High Court Justice Jasti Chelameswar have been appointed to the Supreme Court.

Born on June 23, 1953 at Pedda Muttevi, Movya Mandal in Krishna District of Andhra Pradesh Justice Chelameswar graduated in Law from Andhra University in 1976.

He was enrolled as an Advocate in High Court of Andhra Pradesh at Hyderabad in the same year. An expert in Constitutional Law, Election Laws, Central Excise, Customs, Income Tax and Criminal Law he was appointed as Standing Counsel of AP Lokayukta in 1985 and 1986.

He also worked as Government Pleader for Home Affairs in High Court in the years 1988 and 1989. He was appointed as Additional Advocate General in 1995.

He was elevated as Additional Judge of High Court of Andhra Pradesh in 1997 and as Judge in 1999. He was appointed Chief Justice of Gauhati High Court in 2007. He was transferred to Kerala High Court as Chief Justice of Kerala in 2010.

Born on October 3, 1953, Justice Misra was enrolled as an advocate in February 1977 and practiced in constitutional, civil, criminal, revenue, service and sales tax matters in the Orissa High Court and the Service Tribunal.

He was appointed Additional Judge of the Orissa High Court in January 1996.

Justice Misra was transferred to the Madhya Pradesh High Court in March 1997 and became a permanent Judge the same year in December.

During his stint at the Madhya Pradesh, he also acted as the Executive Chairman of the State Legal Services.

Justice Misra assumed charge of the office of Chief Justice at the Patna High Court on December 23, 2009. He was transferred to Delhi Court in the same rank in 2010.
—iGovernment Bureau

Post new comment

Content limited to 50 characters, remaining: 50
Content limited to 1500 characters, remaining: 1500
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.
Todays Main News »

Click below for your free email iGovernment newsletter