Fri 18 April, 2014  Drop a Visiting Card
Uttarakhand to expand smart health card scheme

It would now be expanded to six more districts across the state

Dehradun: The Uttarkhand government has decided to expand the health smart card scheme to six more districts of the state.

Currently it is operational in only Dehradun and Udhamsingh Nagar districts of the state. Six districts where this scheme is being extended include Pithoragarh, Champawat, Almora, Bageshwar, Chamoli and Uttarkashi.

With this expansion, eight districts out of a total 13 would be covered under the scheme. The remaining districts would be covered in the next phase of the expansion, Director National Programme, AP Mamgain said.

The health smart cards are provided under the Rashtriya Beema Suraksha Yojna run by the National Rural Health Mission (NRHM).

This card entitles the below Poverty Line (BPL) card holders get free medical facilities upto Rs 30,000 for the whole family whose size is taken at five members.

In order to create awareness among the BPL families of the benefit of these schemes, the government would launch publicity drive at the village level.

Post new comment

Content limited to 50 characters, remaining: 50
Content limited to 1500 characters, remaining: 1500
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.
Todays Main News »

Click below for your free email iGovernment newsletter